The Brenda Strafford Foundation thanks the many individuals and organizations who have collaborated with us and have demonstrated leadership in creating the first Dementia Friendly Communities in Alberta.


Coordinating Committees & Working Groups

Calgary Westhills Alliance


  • Dementia Friendly Community Coordinator, The Brenda Strafford Foundation
  • Bryan Gilks, Family Caregiver

Alliance and Sub-Committee Working Group Representation from:

  • Age Friendly Calgary
  • Alberta Health Services
  • Alberta’s Mobile Footcare Service
  • Alzheimer Society of Calgary
  • ATB Financial
  • Calgary Dementia Network
  • Calgary Fire Department
  • Calgary Police Department
  • Calgary Seniors Resource Society
  • Calgary West Central Primary Care Network
  • Caregivers
  • Clinical Pharmacist, Foothills Medical Centre
  • First Lutheran Church
  • Good Earth Coffehouse Strathcona Square
  • Home Instead
  • Meals on Wheels
  • Kerby Centre
  • Stantec
  • Strathcona Christie Aspen Community Association
  • University of Calgary
  • Wentworth Manor Adult Day Program

Okotoks Coalition


  • Administrator, Tudor Manor
  • Janette Messer, The Town of Okotoks

Coalition and Sub-Committee Working Group Representation from:

  • Alberta Health Services
  • Adult Day Support Program
  • Alzheimer Society of Calgary
  • Calgary Rural Primary Care Network
  • Caregivers
  • Catholic Schools and Public Schools
  • Geriatric Social Work
  • Healthy Okotoks Coalition
  • Meals on Wheels
  • Okotoks Chamber of Commerce
  • Okotoks EMS
  • Okotoks Fire Services
  • Stantec
  • Town of Okotoks and Mayor of Okotoks


Steering Committee

  • Alberta Health Services
  • Alberta Innovates
  • Government of Alberta (Seniors and Housing)
  • The Brenda Strafford Foundation

Strategic Advisory Group


  • Jenny Robinson (The Brenda Strafford Foundation)
  • Dr. Elaine Stokes


  • Airdrie Collaborative
  • Alberta Association on Gerontology
  • Alberta Health Services
  • Alzheimer Society of Alberta and Northwest Territories
  • Alzheimer Society of Calgary
  • Caregivers Alberta
  • City of Calgary
  • Government of Alberta (ministries of Health and Seniors and Housing)
  • Kerby Centre
  • The Brenda Strafford Foundation
  • University of Calgary

Other Acknowledgements:

  • ATB Financial
  • ATB Financial branches (Okotoks, Walden, West Springs, Westhills)
  • Brain in Motion
  • Calgary Public Library
  • Cameron Clark, PhD, Clinical Neuropsychologist
  • Dementia Network Calgary
  • Ecole Secondaire Foothills Composite High School/Alberta High School of Fine Arts
  • Foothills Community Support Services
  • Foothills Seniors Interagency
  • Guardian Angel School
  • Okotoks Interagency
  • Okotoks Public Library
  • Okotoks Seniors Club
  • Rundle College
  • YouQuest


The Brenda Strafford Foundation Project Staff:

  • Navjot Virk, Research and Innovative Practice Manager
  • Jennifer Mallamo, Dementia Friendly Communities Okotoks Coordinator
  • Emma Richardson, Dementia Friendly Communities Westhills Coordinator
  • Meghan Jackson, Dementia Friendly Communities Evaluation Support
  • Julie Arnold, Communications and Marketing Manager